Thursday, November 12, 2009

Chick Is Western Nominee For Top Defensive Player


Toronto -- The Canadian Football League announced today the nominees for the 2009 Gibson’s Finest CFL Player Awards.

Voters were asked to select players from their local CFL division who, through on-field performance excellence, best represent the awards’ title – Most Outstanding Player, Most Outstanding Canadian Player, Most Outstanding Defensive Player, Most Outstanding Offensive Lineman, Most Outstanding Rookie and Most Outstanding Special Teams Player.

The East and West Player Award winners were selected by 62 voters, including members of the Football Reporters of Canada (FRC) and CFL head coaches.

The winners will be announced at the 2009 Gibson’s Finest CFL Player Awards show during Grey Cup week on Thursday, November 26 at the TELUS Convention Centre in Calgary, Alberta.

Fans can purchase tickets online at

Below are the East and West Division nominees:


MOP--Joffrey Reynolds (Cgy) vs Anthony Calvillo (Mtl)
DEFENSIVE PLAYER--John Chick (Sask) vs Anwar Stewart (Mtl)
TOP CANADIAN--Ricky Foley (BC) vs Ben Cahoon (Mtl)
SPECIAL TEAMS--Jason Arakgi (BC) vs Larry Taylor (Mtl)
ROOKIE--Martell Mallett (BC) vs Jonathan Hefney (Wpg)
LINEMAN--Ben Archibald (Cgy) vs Scott Flory (Mtl)


Anonymous said...

Three BC players? They don't make the playoffs through the West and they get three nominees. I don't see the sense in that. I won't argue with Foley, but Mallett and Arakgi. I would have selected Armstead instead of Arakgi.


Anonymous said...

If Armstead was playing the whole year, I coudl see him nominated instead of Arakgi. Him joing at around Labour Day didn't help his chances. I don't think it will matter as Taylor will win it this year.

Congrats Chick!

Little Johnny